Part of Formation
US Business Bank Accounts for Non-Residents
Six US business accounts whose own pages say owners living outside the US can apply, compared on the thing that decides most applications from abroad: whether the bank needs a US physical address.
Disclosure Links to providers on this page earn this site nothing. They go to the provider’s own site unmodified, with no tracking parameters. If that ever changes, this notice changes with it. Full disclosure.
The comparison
6 providers. Sort any column; the sorted or filtered view has its own address and can be linked to.
6 providers
- US physical address needed
- No
- What it says about the address
- A verifiable home or office address, in the US or abroad; no PO boxes, virtual addresses, mail centres or registered agent addresses
- Owners living outside the US
- Yes; founders from outside its prohibited countries
- Fees, first year
- $0
- Monthly fee
- None
- US physical address needed
- No
- What it says about the address
- A physical or non-physical US legal business address, plus a physical home address in your country
- Owners living outside the US
- Yes; owners living in 25 listed countries
- Fees, first year
- $0
- Monthly fee
- None
- US physical address needed
- Not stated
- What it says about the address
- Not stated in its US document requirements
- Owners living outside the US
- Yes; owners who are not US persons give a passport
- Fees, first year
- $0
- Monthly fee
- None
- US physical address needed
- Not stated
- What it says about the address
- A physical trading address where you work (office, home or co-working); no virtual offices, mail forwarding, PO boxes or registration agencies
- Owners living outside the US
- Yes; owners outside the US give a photo ID
- Fees, first year
- $31
- Monthly fee
- None
- US physical address needed
- Yes
- What it says about the address
- A physical US business address; no PO boxes or virtual mailboxes; a registered agent address only with an operating address
- Owners living outside the US
- Yes; owners outside its restricted countries, with a passport
- Fees, first year
- $0
- Monthly fee
- None
- US physical address needed
- Yes
- What it says about the address
- A US physical address; no PO boxes, private mailboxes or mailbox services; virtual only with a verifiable US physical presence
- Owners living outside the US
- Yes; with US operations and a US physical address
- Fees, first year
- $0
- Monthly fee
- None
Every figure here was checked against the provider’s own page in Sep 2026. Figures are rechecked at least every 90 days; one past that is marked “Recheck due”.
Segments show the tier reached, not the score:BasicStandardStrongExcellent
Start with the first column. An account that needs a US physical address is out of reach for most owners abroad, whatever it costs; one whose page does not say is worth asking before you apply. The score weights the address rule at 70% and first-year fees at 30%. The formation step comes first: every account here needs the company's EIN and formation documents.
Scoring weights
rubric 2026.1
- Opens without a US physical address70%
- Fees in the first year30%
Set once per vertical and versioned. Changing a weight is a logged version bump, not routine upkeep — methodology.
Verification state
- Dated fields in this table
- 30
- Oldest check
- Sep 2026
- Most recent check
- Sep 2026
- Recheck window
- 90 days
- Past that window
- 0
Scope
What the figures cover, and what is deliberately absent — an omission a reader cannot see looks like an oversight.
What this table covers
- Every rule and price is read off the provider's own eligibility, help or pricing page and dated individually.
- The address column is each provider's own statement, reduced to three values: no US physical address needed, one needed, or not stated. The column beside it gives the rule in the provider's words, because the detail matters: most refuse virtual mailboxes and registered agent addresses, and a mailbox bought for the company may not be enough.
- The base plan of each account is priced. Most charge nothing a month; the first-year column adds any fee to open.
What it leaves out, and why
- Accounts whose pages do not say they accept owners living outside the US. In September 2026 that left out Novo, whose requirements page says only that non-US owners may need other documents.
- Whether a given application will be approved. Every provider reviews each one, and none publishes approval rates.
- Wire and conversion fees, which each provider prices differently and some do not publish. Where they are published, the product summary gives them.
- Quality of service. It is not published, so it is not scored.
Every figure above is dated to the last time it was checked against the provider’s own pricing page, not to when this page was published. See methodology for how scores are calculated from those figures.