Business FX & Cross-Border Payments
Fifteen business accounts for paying suppliers and contractors in other currencies, compared on what one defined payment costs once the margin, the per-payment fee and the plan fee are added up — and, underneath, the brokers that publish no price.
Disclosure Links to providers on this page earn this site nothing. They go to the provider’s own site unmodified, with no tracking parameters. If that ever changes, this notice changes with it. Full disclosure.
The comparison
15 providers. Sort any column; the sorted or filtered view has its own address and can be linked to.
15 providers
- One £10,000 payment
- £35.00Calculated from attributes verified Sep 2026
- Month, with plan fee
- £35.00Calculated from attributes verified Sep 2026
- Margin, GBP to USD
- 0.35%Verified against the source Sep 2026
- Margin-free allowance
- NoneVerified against the source Sep 2026
- Fee per payment
- NoneVerified against the source Sep 2026
- Plan fee
- NoneVerified against the source Sep 2026
- Set-up fee
- £50 onceVerified against the source Sep 2026
- Rate basis
- Mid-market rate, fee charged separatelyVerified against the source Sep 2026
- One £10,000 payment
- £45.50Calculated from attributes verified Sep 2026
- Month, with plan fee
- £45.50Calculated from attributes verified Sep 2026
- Margin, GBP to USD
- 0.40%Verified against the source Sep 2026
- Margin-free allowance
- NoneVerified against the source Sep 2026
- Fee per payment
- £5.50Verified against the source Sep 2026
- Plan fee
- NoneVerified against the source Sep 2026
- Set-up fee
- NoneVerified against the source Sep 2026
- Rate basis
- Starling's rate, fee charged separatelyVerified against the source Sep 2026
- One £10,000 payment
- £0.00Calculated from attributes verified Sep 2026
- Month, with plan fee
- £35.00Calculated from attributes verified Sep 2026
- Margin, GBP to USD
- 0.60%Verified against the source Sep 2026
- Margin-free allowance
- £15,000/moVerified against the source Sep 2026
- Fee per payment
- NoneVerified against the source Sep 2026
- Plan fee
- £35/moVerified against the source Sep 2026
- Set-up fee
- NoneVerified against the source Sep 2026
- Rate basis
- Interbank rate; 0.6% fee applies above the allowance
- One £10,000 payment
- £59.00Calculated from attributes verified Sep 2026
- Month, with plan fee
- £69.00Calculated from attributes verified Sep 2026
- Margin, GBP to USD
- 0.60%Verified against the source Sep 2026
- Margin-free allowance
- £1,000/moVerified against the source Sep 2026
- Fee per payment
- £5.00Verified against the source Sep 2026
- Plan fee
- £10/moVerified against the source Sep 2026
- Set-up fee
- NoneVerified against the source Sep 2026
- Rate basis
- Interbank rate; 0.6% fee applies above the allowance
- One £10,000 payment
- £50.00Calculated from attributes verified Sep 2026
- Month, with plan fee
- £69.00Calculated from attributes verified Sep 2026
- Margin, GBP to USD
- 0.50%Verified against the source Sep 2026
- Margin-free allowance
- NoneVerified against the source Sep 2026
- Fee per payment
- NoneVerified against the source Sep 2026
- Plan fee
- £19/moVerified against the source Sep 2026
- Set-up fee
- NoneVerified against the source Sep 2026
- Rate basis
- Interbank rateVerified against the source Sep 2026
- One £10,000 payment
- £151.00
- Month, with plan fee
- £151.00
- Margin, GBP to USD
- 1.50%
- Margin-free allowance
- None
- Fee per payment
- £1.00
- Plan fee
- None
- Set-up fee
- None
- Rate basis
- Tide's rate; the base the markup is added to is not stated
- One £10,000 payment
- £325.00
- Month, with plan fee
- £332.50
- Margin, GBP to USD
- 3.00%
- Margin-free allowance
- None
- Fee per payment
- £25.00
- Plan fee
- £7.50/mo
- Set-up fee
- None
- Rate basis
- Market providers' rate plus a published mark-up
- One £10,000 payment
- £75.00
- Month, with plan fee
- £102.49
- Margin, GBP to USD
- 0.75%
- Margin-free allowance
- None
- Fee per payment
- None
- Plan fee
- £27.49/mo
- Set-up fee
- None
- Rate basis
- Tide's rate; the base the markup is added to is not stated
- One £10,000 payment
- £105.00
- Month, with plan fee
- £117.90
- Margin, GBP to USD
- 1.00%
- Margin-free allowance
- None
- Fee per payment
- £5.00
- Plan fee
- £12.90/mo
- Set-up fee
- None
- Rate basis
- ANNA's rate; the base the fee is added to is not stated
- One £10,000 payment
- £275.00
- Month, with plan fee
- £285.00
- Margin, GBP to USD
- 2.60%
- Margin-free allowance
- None
- Fee per payment
- £15.00
- Plan fee
- £10/mo
- Set-up fee
- None
- Rate basis
- Wholesale rate plus a published margin
- One £10,000 payment
- £125.50
- Month, with plan fee
- £137.99
- Margin, GBP to USD
- 1.25%
- Margin-free allowance
- None
- Fee per payment
- £0.50
- Plan fee
- £12.49/mo
- Set-up fee
- None
- Rate basis
- Tide's rate; the base the markup is added to is not stated
- One £10,000 payment
- £50.00
- Month, with plan fee
- £99.00
- Margin, GBP to USD
- 0.50%
- Margin-free allowance
- None
- Fee per payment
- None
- Plan fee
- £49/mo
- Set-up fee
- None
- Rate basis
- Interbank rate
- One £10,000 payment
- £100.00
- Month, with plan fee
- £122.90
- Margin, GBP to USD
- 1.00%
- Margin-free allowance
- None
- Fee per payment
- None
- Plan fee
- £22.90/mo
- Set-up fee
- None
- Rate basis
- ANNA's rate; the base the fee is added to is not stated
- One £10,000 payment
- £50.00
- Month, with plan fee
- £109.90
- Margin, GBP to USD
- 0.50%
- Margin-free allowance
- None
- Fee per payment
- None
- Plan fee
- £59.90/mo
- Set-up fee
- None
- Rate basis
- ANNA's rate; the base the fee is added to is not stated
- One £10,000 payment
- £50.00
- Month, with plan fee
- £119.99
- Margin, GBP to USD
- 0.50%
- Margin-free allowance
- None
- Fee per payment
- None
- Plan fee
- £69.99/mo
- Set-up fee
- None
- Rate basis
- Tide's rate; the base the markup is added to is not stated
Every figure here was checked against the provider’s own page in Oct 2026, except where a date is shown against the figure. Figures are rechecked at least every 90 days; one past that is marked “Recheck due”.
date checked against the provider’s own pagecalculated; oldest date among its inputspast its recheck window
Segments show the tier reached, not the score:BasicStandardStrongExcellent
The first column is the payment alone: the margin on the part of the amount above any allowance, plus the fee per payment. The second adds the plan fee, which is what a business sending one such payment a month actually pays. A plan whose allowance covers the whole payment shows a payment cost of nothing and a month cost equal to its fee; send more and the order changes, which is why the scenario is stated.
Quote-only: FX brokers that publish no price
7 providers. These firms quote a rate on request and do not publish the margin in it, so there is no figure to rank. Most offer what the accounts above do not: forward contracts and options to fix a rate in advance.
OFX Business
OFX (UKForex)
Broker with a free standard plan and a £75-a-month suite; SWIFT payments £5 each.
- Price it publishes
- £5 per SWIFT payment; margin not published
- Smallest payment
- £100
- Largest payment
- No maximum stated
- Hedging
- Forwards up to 12 months, typically from £25,000; limit orders
- Client money
- Safeguarded, kept separate from its own accounts
- Regulated as
- FCA e-money institution, FRN 902028
Currencies Direct Business
Currencies Direct
Broker with no transfer fee and the price in its rate.
- Price it publishes
- No transfer fee; margin not published
- Smallest payment
- Not stated
- Largest payment
- No maximum stated
- Hedging
- Forwards up to two years; market orders
- Client money
- Segregated client account
- Regulated as
- FCA e-money institution, FRN 900669
TorFX Business
TorFX (Tor Currency Exchange)
Broker in the Currencies Direct group; no fee for business payments.
- Price it publishes
- No transfer fee; margin not published
- Smallest payment
- No minimum
- Largest payment
- No maximum; online up to £100,000
- Hedging
- Forwards up to two years; limit and stop-loss orders
- Client money
- Segregated accounts
- Regulated as
- FCA e-money institution, FRN 900706
Equals Money
Equals Money
Business payments platform priced by annual plan, with the conversion price in its rate.
- Price it publishes
- Plans £300 or £420 a year; margin not published
- Smallest payment
- Not stated
- Largest payment
- Not stated
- Hedging
- Forwards up to 12 months; options through third parties; limit and stop-loss orders
- Client money
- Safeguarded accounts with tier-one banks
- Regulated as
- FCA payment institution, no. 488396
Ebury
Ebury
FX and payments for importers and exporters, with forwards and options.
- Price it publishes
- 'Zero hidden fees'; margin not published
- Smallest payment
- Not stated
- Largest payment
- Not stated
- Hedging
- Forwards and options
- Client money
- Separate accounts under safeguarding and client money rules
- Regulated as
- FCA e-money institution, FRN 900797
Corpay Cross-Border
Corpay
Now includes Global Reach; publishes no fees or margins.
- Price it publishes
- No fees or margin published
- Smallest payment
- Not stated
- Largest payment
- Not stated
- Hedging
- Open, fixed, window and non-deliverable forwards; options through its investment firm
- Client money
- Safeguarding accounts or an insurance policy
- Regulated as
- FCA e-money institution, FRN 900702
Convera
Convera
Formerly Western Union Business Solutions; aimed at companies with over $10 million in revenue.
- Price it publishes
- Fee schedule on request; margin not published
- Smallest payment
- Aimed at companies with $10M+ revenue
- Largest payment
- No maximum stated
- Hedging
- Forwards, non-deliverable forwards, swaps and options
- Client money
- Designated client account, separate from its own funds
- Regulated as
- FCA payment institution, FRN 517165
Every fact here was checked against the provider’s own page in Oct 2026. Figures are rechecked at least every 90 days; one past that is marked “Recheck due”.
Scoring weights
rubric 2026.1
- One £10,000 payment, with the plan fee70%
- Fixed cost per month30%
Set once per vertical and versioned. Changing a weight is a logged version bump, not routine upkeep — methodology.
Verification state
- Dated fields in this table
- 92
- Oldest check
- Sep 2026
- Most recent check
- Oct 2026
- Recheck window
- 90 days
- Past that window
- 0
Put your own numbers in
The same fees as the table above, worked out for your situation.
Ranked for a specific question
The same verified data, ordered by the figure that answers one decision rather than by the overall score.
- Paying a supplier abroad now and thenFor businesses that send a few international payments a year, where a monthly plan fee is money spent in the months nothing is sent.
- Paying abroad every monthFor businesses with a regular monthly payment to make in another currency, where the plan fee is a cost of doing business and the question is the total.
Guides
One question each, answered in the first sixty words from the figures in this table.
Scope
What the figures cover, and what is deliberately absent — an omission a reader cannot see looks like an oversight.
What this table covers
- Every margin, allowance, fee and plan price is read off the provider's own fee schedule or pricing page and dated individually.
- The headline columns price one scenario: a single £10,000 payment from pounds into US dollars in one month, sent the standard way, first on its own and then with the plan's monthly fee added.
- Where a provider quotes a margin over the interbank or mid-market rate, that margin is the figure. Where it applies a fee above an allowance, the allowance is applied to the scenario first.
What it leaves out, and why
- Providers whose price is inside the exchange rate and not published as a figure are not ranked: a 'no fee' payment with an undisclosed margin cannot be compared. The FX brokers among them are listed below the table with what they do publish.
- Banks and accounts that publish only part of the price: NatWest (a margin of up to 2.65% plus £15 a payment), HSBC (£5 a payment, no margin), Monzo Business (a fee of up to £9 plus 0% to 1.80%), and Barclays and Moneycorp, whose business pricing pages could not be read when this table was checked.
- Revolut Business Scale, whose page confirms only an annual-billing price; Payoneer, built for receiving rather than paying from pounds; Allica, which uses Wise's pricing; Countingup, which routes payments through CurrencyFair without a published margin; Mettle, which does not send international payments; and Argentex, in special administration since July 2025.
- Settlement speed and country coverage. Both are published as marketing claims in incomparable forms.
- Card FX fees, receiving fees and multi-currency account features. This table is about sending a payment; the neobanks table covers card spending.
Every figure above is dated to the last time it was checked against the provider’s own pricing page, not to when this page was published. See methodology for how scores are calculated from those figures.